

New Zealand Indian Sports Association Inc.

Newsletter

President: Suresh Wallabh 021 153 3089 | suresh@eurogrow.co.nz Email: nzisa@outlook.co.nz Secretary: Chan Dullabh

021 204 3345 | chan.kam@xtra.co.nz

Treasurer: Kirit Makan 021 967 641 | kmakan@nm-ltd.co.nz

WELCOME

Welcome to the first newsletter for 2020. NZISA had a great start to the year with the Cricket Tournament played in January and the Under 23 Hockey Tournament played in February which were both a success.

Unfortunately March presented the Covid-19 coronavirus where the number of rising cases and the lockdown in New Zealand prompted NZISA to cancel both the Golf Open in April and Queen's Birthday Tournament in June. More details on this are outlined below.

The NZISA executive and delegates also cancelled their Executive Meeting that was scheduled to be held in Hamilton at the end of March and met online via conference call to discuss NZISA events and matters. This allowed us to reschedule events and continue organising future ones.

We hope all our members and their families in New Zealand and abroad are safe in these surreal times, and that everyone is following the Ministry of Health recommendations even though we have progressed down the alert levels.

EVENT CANCELLATIONS

Due to the Covid-19 coronoavirus pandemic and health and safety guidance as provided by the Ministry of Health, NZISA cancelled the following sporting events:

- 2020 NZISA Golf Open which was to be hosted by Auckland Indian Sports Club;
- 2020 NZISA Queen's Birthday Tournament which was to be hosted by Pukekohe Indian Sports Club.

The 2021 QBT will be hosted by Pukekohe on Saturday 5th to Monday 7th June 2021.

The 2021 Golf Open will be hosted by Auckland with the final date to be confirmed later.

The next NZISA sporting event to be held will be the NZISA Cricket Tournament in January 2021 with all details to be confirmed later this year.

2020 CRICKET TOURNAMENT

This years Cricket Tournament was held by North Harbour Indian Sports Club in Auckland. The tournament was well hosted by North Harbour with fine weather on the Saturday and a bit gloomy on the Sunday.

Game Results

Game 1 - Waikato 102/8 beat Bay of Plenty A 101/9

Game 2 - Bay of Plenty B 70/4 beat North Harbour 69/7

Game 3 - Waikato 187/3 beat Bay of Plenty B 99/10

Game 4 - Auckland 112/2 beat North Harbour 111/4

Game 5 - Waikato 85/4 beat North Harbour 84/7

Game 6 - Bay of Plenty A 159/6 beat Auckland 115/10

Game 7 - Bay of Plenty A 115/7 beat North Harbour 34/10

Game 8 - Bay of Plenty B 122/7 beat Auckland 121/9

Game 9 - Waikato 123/9 beat Auckland 70/10

Game 10 - Bay of Plenty B 123/8 beat Bay of Plenty A 117/10.

Tournament Results

1st - Waikato 2nd - Bay of Plenty B

3rd - Bay of Plenty A 4th - Auckland

5th - North Harbour.

Tournament Team

Bipul Das (Bay of Plenty A); Gagandeep Singh (Waikato); Himesh Gosai (Bay of Plenty A); Jatin Bohra (Waikato); Mehul Chhagan (Bay of Plenty A); Nimesh Patel (Auckland); Prabhjot Monga (Waikato); Prakash Patel (Auckland); Sahil Rana (Bay of Plenty A); Satvir Singh (Waikato); Umesh Morarji (Bay of Plenty A); Vinay Chhagan (North Harbour); Vinay Pathania (Bay of Plenty B).

Most Valuable Players

Nimesh Patel (Auckland); Pramod Kumar (Bay of Plenty B); Sahil Rana (Bay of Plenty A); Satvir Singh (Waikato); Vinay Chhagan (North Harbour)

A big thank you to hosts North Harbour, Tournament Controllers Chan Dullabh and Vinod Patel and to umpires Phil Jones, Viv Lausande and Zarrar Javaid. The 2021 Cricket Tournament will be hosted by Pukekohe Indian Sports Club.

U23 HOCKEY TOURNAMENT

The Under 23 Hockey Tournament was held on Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd February at the Gallaher Hockey Stadium in Hamilton. Three Men's teams entered including a composite squad made up of players from smaller clubs and those at university.

There was a good crowd in attendance this year which was great to see. Thank you to hosts Waikato Indian Sports Club and all umpires as supplied by Waikato Hockey, in addition to the selectors Manav Shah, Nazz Shah and Parbhu Parsotam.

Game Results

Game 1 - Pukekohe 3 vs. Auckland 2

Game 2 - Auckland 2 vs. Composite 1

Game 3 - Pukekohe 4 vs. Composite 1

Game 4 (Final) - Pukekohe 4 vs. Auckland 1.

Tournament Team

Akash Chimmanlal (Composite); Alex Deo (Composite); Bijay Govind (Pukekohe); Devon Hari (Pukekohe); Eeshan Patel (Pukekohe) Hamish Patel (Auckland) Kalyan Jeram (Pukekohe) Keshan Narsai (Auckland); Ken Hendricks (Auckland); Manraj Gill (Auckland); Milan Parshotam (Pukekohe); Netesh Sukha (Pukekohe); Sahib Singh (Auckland); Shae Iswar (Auckland), Xavier Guy (Pukekohe).

Most Valuable Players

Kailin Dayal (Composite), Kieran Chhiba (Auckland); Milan Parshotam (Pukekohe).



U23 Auckland vs. Pukekohe

Source: Kim Wihare Pics

EXECUTIVE & ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The next NZISA Executive and Annual General Meeting is to be held on **Saturday 10th to Sunday 11th October 2020** in Rotorua. It will be confirmed closer to the time if this will be a one or two day meeting.

NZISA FACT

Netball has been a sport that was played at QBT for many years from the 1980s to mid 2000s, but its root started back in the 1960s after a brief appearance of a netball team from Auckland, where netball re-emerged among Indian clubs during the 1980s when a number of clubs took up the game.

Wellington were a club who started playing netball at club level in 1986, which gave their female members a change from the usual sport of hockey.

Waikato were also a club who entered mixed indoor leagues during the 1980s. Central Districts fielded its first ever women's team in any sport playing NZ Motor Bodies in 1983.

In 1988, Wellington suggested that netball be included in future NZISA tournaments, and as hosts of QBT that year, introduced the game as a demonstration sport for the first time. Auckland accepted the invitation and became the inaugural winners of the netball tournament, finished ahead of the two Wellington teams.

Netball continued to be played at the 1990, 1991 and 1992 tournaments. Pukekohe formed their first netball team for QBT in 1991, and have great success winning for five consecutive years in the late 1990s.

Netball was formally treated as an official QBT sport at the Palmerston North tournament in 1993. Christchurch entered their first women's team at QBT to play netball in 1994, followed by North Harbour in 2002.

In later years, two clubs became the main participants with Auckland and Waikato dueling many times, both being successful with many wins in the 2000s. Although netball has not been played at QBT in recent years, NZISA hope to see a resurgence in this sport as a new generation of female Indian sportswomen emerge.



Central Districts vs. Wellington Netball Teams

Source: CDISC

NZISA AFFILIATED INDIAN SPORTS CLUBS

Auckland Indian Sports Club (Inc.)
Pukekohe Indian Sports Club
Bay of Plenty Indian Sports Club (Inc.)
North Harbour Indian Sports Club (Inc.)

www.aisc.org.nz www.pisc.co.nz Central Districts Indian Sports Club (Inc.)
Wellington Indian Sports Club (Inc.)
Christchurch Indian Sports Club
Waikato Indian Sports Club

www.cdisc.org.nz www.wisc.org.nz